(Year 7-9)

How is this measured?

At QIS during Years 7, 8, and 9 we make use of the UK National Curriculum levels to measure the attainment of all students in all subjects (with the exception Mathematics, Arabic, Qatar History and Islamic Studies). The National Curriculum is accompanied by a series of eight levels (Levels 1-8). These are used to measure your child’s progress compared to other students of the same age.

Are these the same as the levels used at the primary school?

Yes. There are eight National Curriculum levels, covering the ages 5-14 years. The lowest is Level 1, which describes the achievements of children at around the age of 5. The highest is Level  8, which is attained by the most able pupils at the age of 14. There are differences in the curriculum and some subjects measured at Key Stage 3 (Years 7-9) might not have been measured at Key Stage 2 (Years 3-6) using National Curriculum levels, for example DT and Art. It is also worth remembering that some students begin new subjects at Key Stage 3.

On my child’s report there is a letter next to the level. What does this mean?

Each number level is quite broad so each one is divided into three sub levels, e.g. Level 5 is split into 5a, 5b and 5c. These can be defined as follows:

C – student has started to work at the level

B – student working well within the level

A – student has reached the top of the level and is working towards the next level

Should my child go up a level each time I get a report?

Not all students progress at the same rate and they may not progress evenly. You may find that your child remains at the same level between two sets of reports for some subjects or they might progress by only one sub level. Expected progress across one key stage is one and a half levels. Very good progress would mean that a student makes two levels of progress from the start of Year 7 to the end of Year 8 (e.g. from level 4b to 6b). If you have any concerns about your child’s progress at any time please do not hesitate to contact us.

Will my child sit tests in Key Stage 3 similar to those in Year 6?

Students in Key Stage 3 will sit exams at the end of Year 8 in Mathematics, and end of Year 9 in English and Science. This allows us to offer tests which we will use to report KS3 attainment, compare student progress and inform teachers about possible iGCSE grades.

In Year 9, we can roughly predict students’ performance at IGCSE level, for example a student with a level 5b will go on to achieve a grade C at iGCSE. Furthermore, students who attain level 6c will achieve a grade B, and 6a an A grade, and so on.

In light of this we would expect Year 9 students to achieve the minimum of a level 5b or above in English and Science. However, in Maths students are starting IGCSE Maths in Year 9 so report grades will be in Grades A*-U.

Table of Key Stage 3 Levels and Sub-Levels